On the After-the-Credits ‘Avengers’ Scene (SPOILERS AHEAD)

I saw The Avengers at midnight, which means I am a full 8-hour workday ahead of a good number of people who are reading this. So, if you don’t want me to spoil one of the movie’s two after-credits scenes (yes, you need to stay seated for the entire time after the movie ends), then stop reading now.

Right now.

Still reading? Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Go-go gadget Spoilers!

Having never really read The Avengers as a kid (the closest I ever came was a few issues of Iron Man), I’m not really familiar with the back story between Earth’s mightiest heroes and the intergalactic superbad, Thanos.

Thanos, if you haven’t taken the time to Google this yet, is the guy who smirked at the Other’s suggestion that trying to defeat the Earth is a folly. That’s alien-speak for “I’m going to wipe the smirk off of Tony Stark’s face.” That’s also Hollywood-speak for “I can already count the money from the sequel.”

When we get a partial face shot of him, you can see the lines on his chin that clearly distinguish him as the movie-version of this:

From what I’ve read, the dude sounds like he’d be a good villian for a sequel, although I was hoping for something a little different than alien invaders from other worlds. Now I know, the Marvel Universe is filled with other worlds and alternates of those other worlds, but we just had an Avengers movie with an alien invasion. There’s a risk that Avengers II could be a recycled version of the first film.

At the moment, that’s my only real concern, and I’ll be glad to be proven wrong. Other than that, the film was fantastic.

What about you, dear reader? What’d you think of the film? And what do you hope to see in the sequel?

2 thoughts on “On the After-the-Credits ‘Avengers’ Scene (SPOILERS AHEAD)

  1. David Budo May 4, 2012 / 1:17 pm

    Like you, I had no idea who that guy was and had to ask a fellow critic. I googled him and thought that he has a pretty incredible back story that can make for an interesting and non-typical villain. Your concern for recycling is valid, but we must put some faith in Whedon who put all naysayers in their place. Nice post!

    Apparently there is a second post-credit scene, which I didn’t stay for. On my next viewing, I’ll stay right to the end.

    Check out my reviews sometime.

    • Justin May 4, 2012 / 1:34 pm

      Oh I definitely have faith in Whedon and the cast; they’re terrific together. I just hope they don’t box themselves in, as there’s only so many directions you can take with a plot involving alien invaders. 🙂

Your Words Go Here:

