Remember

“Remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, the offspring of David, as preached in my gospel.” (2 Timothy 2:8)

It seems strange that a verse in the Bible would remind us to remember Jesus Christ. I’m a Christian. How could I forget Jesus Christ?

I forget Christ every time I beat myself up for sins that I’ve confessed and for which I’ve been forgiven.

I forget Christ every time I harbor resentment at someone who I feel isn’t making the same amount of effort in our friendship as I am.

I forget Christ when I drive by the homeless person standing on the street corner who is holding a cardboard sign and asking for help.

I forget Christ when I’d rather criticize the lyrics of worship songs than focus on worshipping God.

I forget Christ when theological questions about God become more important than loving Him.

The truth is, it’s very easy to forget.

Remember Jesus Christ, the apostle commands us.

May our minds be set on him today.

Your Words Go Here:

