A ‘Game of Thrones’ Theory (Warning: Spoilers in This Post)

I need my fellow Game of Thrones fans to help me out here, because I’ve got a theory for which someone will either tell me I’m a genius or politely inform me that I’m a woefully misguided Westerosi.

So, after this sentence, there are spoilers ahead.

Don’t keep reading unless you want spoilers.

You’re still reading?

Fine. But don’t complain. 🙂

I know a big fan theory is that Jon Snow is actually Jon Targaryen, and that Mr. Sword in the Darkness is one of the three dragon heads of which the prophecy spoke (with Daenerys and Aegon being the other two). I personally am a R+L=J-er. I’ve even heard speculation that Tyrion is also a dragon, but I think that’s pretty far-fetched.

Here’s my theory: Viserys Targaryen was never a Targaryen in the first place. Instead of figuring out which of our beloved characters is secretly a Dragon, maybe we should start wondering if Dany’s not-so-dearly departed brother was one in the first place.

When Viserys gets killed in Game of Thrones and Dany makes the comment that her brother was no dragon (because fire cannot kill the dragon), what if she was saying more than just the fact that Viserys was more than just unworthy to bear the family name? What if he wasn’t related to Dany at all and was only made to think he was?

Illyrio never seemed too concerned that Viserys wasn’t getting his army from Khal Drogo, and he never expressed any real disappointment when Viserys gets his golden crown. Varys never has any real concerns about the man, either. Maybe the two of them were acting as if Viserys was a Targaryen to fool whoever might have been watching/spying? Perhaps, to distract attention away from Aegon (or, possibly, Jon) while the young man grows up into a mighty warrior? And if Robert Baratheon had succeeded in killing Viserys, who would care? Mr. V was never a Targaryen to begin with.

One immediate problem I can see with this is that Arianne Martell was supposed to have been wed Viserys, and it’s hard to imagine Dorne giving up its princess to someone it knew was a phony Targaryen. Unless … Dorne didn’t know the truth.

So there’s my current theory (and a perfectly solid use of a Sunday evening). Let me know what you think in the comboxes.

6 thoughts on “A ‘Game of Thrones’ Theory (Warning: Spoilers in This Post)

  1. Praad August 3, 2012 / 5:31 pm

    What about Viserys’ pale hair and purple eyes?

    • Justin Boulmay August 3, 2012 / 9:13 pm

      Not sure yet. Some kind of magic to enforce the deception?

  2. Emily August 10, 2012 / 4:51 pm

    Not at all likely. How would Viserys dying mean that Dany would have a revelation that they were not at all related? and no magic encounted in the books would give Viserys the typical colouring of the Targaryens, aside maybe from the stuff that goes on in Braavos, but like I said, not at all likely

    • Justin Boulmay August 10, 2012 / 11:39 pm

      Except that there are facechangers in Braavos. If Arya could do it …

  3. Sheeshee September 15, 2012 / 1:50 pm

    Well Jon might not be a dragon because he suffered a burn when he slew the wight, and dragons aren’t supposed to be hurt by fire. I also wouldn’t want Jon Snow to be a dragon because it would kind of replace Ghost, which is pretty much my favorite Direwolf.

  4. Jackie October 19, 2012 / 12:00 pm

    I am only on book one but in the first chapter of Catelyn maybe its the second chapter because the first one is where she tells Ned about Jon and her sister. But in the second chapter when she discusses Ned and the woman he slept with the woman is described to have had violet eyes. I do believe Jon Snow is a Targaryen but after discussing it with a friend who has read the entire series so far its something that apparently isnt caught right away. Just something to look into I guess.

Your Words Go Here:

