Book Suggestions, Please

This is currently at the top of my What to Read on the Nook list:

Even at 1,100 pages, though, it’s not going to last me forever, and I know the wait for the release of The Winds of Winter is going to be absolutely abysmal.

So I’m counting on my super-cool readers (all three of you) to give me some book recommendations that will tide me over until George R.R. Martin releases Book #6.

Specifically, I’m looking for good fiction. I have some non-fiction/theology that will tide me over as far as serious topics are concerned.

So help a guy out.

What novels should I read?

14 thoughts on “Book Suggestions, Please

  1. jacobcerone January 17, 2012 / 8:12 am

    Mary Beth has been raving about Robert Jordan’s “Wheel of Time” series. There are about ~20 or so novels, but each novel is self-contained.

    • Justin January 17, 2012 / 8:54 am

      Interesting. Are they similar to Game of Thrones? That doesn’t matter, but I was just curious.

  2. writingbeard January 17, 2012 / 8:15 am

    If you liked Song of ice and fire series. Try Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan) or Riftwar Saga (Raymond E Feist). Noticed you like theology too….give Terry Pratchett a go, some good stuff in there make you think and its very funny!

  3. ThePageBoy January 17, 2012 / 8:49 am

    Couldn’t recommend Terry Pratchett more highly. Neil Gaiman is another fave too. If your looking for slightly older sci-fic try Arthur C Clarke and the Dune series. (Hope you haven’t heard or read all of this before hand!)

    • Justin January 17, 2012 / 8:53 am

      I don’t think I’ve heard of any of them, actually. … Did I just play my Loser card?

  4. ThePageBoy January 17, 2012 / 9:46 am

    Apologies!

    I would also recommend the novel ‘I am Legend’ very different from the film and well worth reading.

    Happy to help and happy reading to you!

    ThePageBoy

    • Justin January 17, 2012 / 11:02 am

      I remember reading about the alternate ending for the “I Am Legend” movie and how it was more faithful to the story. I thought that ending was actually better than what they used in theaters.

      Thanks for the help!

  5. writingbeard January 17, 2012 / 10:30 am

    Wheel of Time and Riftwar saga are both epci fantasy – similar layout to Song of Ice and Fire in that they have one story/world running across years. Both are somewhat less historical and more classical fantasy than Song of Ice and Fire books

    • Justin January 17, 2012 / 2:20 pm

      Thanks! I’ll check those out.

  6. ThePageBoy January 17, 2012 / 3:09 pm

    Very happy to help and I hope you find some more stories you enjoy!

    ThePageBoy

  7. mmmbah January 17, 2012 / 5:33 pm

    Wheel of time wheel of time! It plays with the point of view stuff from ASOIAF but Wheel of time has a lot more of a complex universe. Also, you can read book 1 and if you decide you liked it, but you don’t want to read the other 16 or whetever it is, Jordan wrote the first one to be it’s own book. This was my plan… and I’m almost done with book 5…

    I’m also a big Ender fan. (I recommend Ender’s Game, Ender’s Shadow and Shadow of the Hegemon and then stop). Don’t know if you’ve read those before. More the Scifi route.

  8. Sam January 17, 2012 / 6:56 pm

    Infinite Jest, In the Lake of the Woods, Empire Falls, Dear American Airlines

Your Words Go Here:

