Pass the offering, take some money.

Cross Timbers Community Church in Argyle, Texas, has been using its offering plate to give out money instead of taking it.

Pastor Toby Slough thought that if the church was hurting because of the recession, so must be its people. In two months, the church has given $200,000 to different organizations and to church members who are un- or under-employed.

CNN:

Slough said he is not concerned if people try to take advantage of the church’s generosity.

“I told my church a couple weeks ago, if I’m not being taken advantage of, I’m not being like Jesus,” he said.

Well said.

One thought on “Pass the offering, take some money.

  1. johnlunt May 25, 2009 / 10:51 am

    I used to be a member of Cross Timbers and I have never been prouder of them. This is what I had wanted to see the church become while I was there. Keep it up Cross Timbers

    http://www.christianityreboot.wordpress.com

Your Words Go Here:

